Centenarian Breaks Four World Records in Swimming…and he’s my Grandpa

Jaring Timmerman on the set of Canada AM with Beverly Thompson and Seamus O'Reagan

Jaring Timmerman on the set of Canada AM with Beverly Thompson and Seamus O'Reagan

Something else I should have posted a long time ago but never did.

My 100-year-old grandfather, Jaring Timmerman, recently broke four world records in swimming: the 100 m. freestyle, 50 m. freestyle, 100 m. backstroke and 50m. backstroke.

He broke two of those records at the May long weekend Canadian Masters Swim Championships.

My family is thrilled with his accomplishments and so is the media. He has become an inspiration to so many.

He states in each interview that the secret to his longevity is GEDS: Genes, Diet, Exercise and Spirit. If you want to read more about GEDS, check my article on Suite 101.

He had two interviews on CTV, Canada AM and The National. My favourite was when they found an old clip of him being interviewed at age 90 and he said his goal was to swim till he was 100. Well he has accomplished his goal and now his new one is to continue on till 110.

He never stops!

5 Comments

Filed under Quick Stuff

5 responses to “Centenarian Breaks Four World Records in Swimming…and he’s my Grandpa

  1. Monica Deighton

    Can you please give me more details on your Grandpa. What did he do during his working year? How many children did he have? Where does he live now?
    Thanks so much, my dad is 90 and is slipping and I think it is from lack of goals. Monica

    • surewriter

      Hi Monica,

      I’m sorry to hear about your grandfather. I understand how you feel, when my father retired he went into a state of depression and spent most of every day sitting in his chair watching tv. Soon his health began to deteriorate and we became very concerned.

      That has stopped now, I think from watching his dad (my grandfather) racing he realized he needs to be moving, active and enjoy life again.

      My grandfather (Jaring) has lived in Winnipeg, Manitoba, most of his life, which shows you don’t have to live down south to keep active. He worked at a Grain Elevator Company and had three children. He always enjoyed swimming but didn’t start competing until he was 78, which I think proves it is never too late to start exercising. He practices three times a week and lifts weights every day. He also works on crosswords and reads everyday.

      I think the best way of helping your father is by suggesting some light calisthenics and playing some board games with him. He needs a balance of physical and mental activity. Find out about his passions/interests and learn about ways he can incorporate them into his day. Go to you local library, swimming pool, seniors centre, church and find out what they offer.

      The other thing is that my grandfather doesn’t drink alcohol or pop and has a strict diet of vegetables and fruits, fibers and grains. I never see him eat deserts, if I do it is only a “sliver” as he likes to say.

      Try to remember what he did when he was younger and suggest doing some of those things with him. It is so much easier when you exercise with a group. My dad loves it when we go walking together. It is also a great time for us to talk.

      Also offer him some interesting articles each day to read, it will keep his mind working each day. The more his mind is active, the more goals he will want to achieve.

      Here is one article he should read from the Toronto Star, it is one of my favourites about Grandpa.

      http://www.thestar.com/sports/article/635584

      Good luck, I hope your father becomes inspired.

      Erica

  2. Pingback: 2010 in review – My Most Popular Posts | Sure Writer

  3. Hi, I desire to subscribe for this website to take most recent updates,
    therefore where can i do it please help.

  4. Ruth (Besson) Jones

    Growing up I knew Jaring Timmerman very well. I was just a kid in the Salvation Army at the time, but even so, I’ve never forgotten that man. He had the kindest gentlest face and was always greeting everyone. How is his health now? Does he still swim?

Leave a comment